Monday, March 25, 2013

Minnesotans in the NCAA Men's Division I Hockey Tournament

College hockey has reached the most exciting part of the season: hockey's own "March Madness", leading into the Frozen Four in April in Pittsburgh. Six WCHA teams, including three from Minnesota are in the tournament, and many Minnesotans on other rosters in the tournament. Here are your Minnesota grown players making appearances in the NCAA Division I Hockey Tournament, listed by Name/Position/Year/High School/Junior Team.

Nick Bjugstad In the 2013
Hockey City Classic
University Of Minnesota

Mark Alt,D, Jr. (Cretin-Derham Hall)
Seth Ambroz, F, So. (New Prague/Omaha Lancers)
Nick Bjugstad, C,Jr. (Blaine)
Travis Boyd, C,So. (Hopkins/USNDTP)
Zach Budish, F, RS Jr. (Edina)
Ryan Coyne,G, Fr. (Maple Grove)
Seth Helgeson, D, Sr. (Fairbailt/Sioux City Muskateers)
Justin Holl, D/F, Jr. (Minnetonka)
Christian Horn, F, Fr. (Benilde-St. Margaret's)
Christian Isackson, F, So. (St. Thomas Academy/Sioux Falls Stampede)
Jared Larson, F, RS So. (Eastview/Fairbanks Ice Dogs)
Ben Marshall, D, So. (Mahtomedi)
A.J. Michaelson, F, Fr. (Apple Valley/Waterloo Blackhawks)
Jake Parenteau, D/F, Jr. (Chisago Lakes/Alaska Avalanche)
Kyle Rau, F, So. (Eden Prairie)
Connor Reilly, F, Fr. (Penticton Vees)
Eden Prairie native, Danny Kristo,
A Hobey Baker Finalist for UND.
Mike Reilly, D, Fr. (Penticton Vees)
Ryan Reilly, F, Fr. (Penticton Vees)
Nate Schmidt, D, Jr. (St. Cloud Cathedral/Fargo Force)
Michael Shibrowski, G, Jr. (Benilde-St. Margaret's)
Brady Sjkei, D, Fr. (Lakeville North/USNDTP)
Adam Wilcox, G, Fr. (South St. Paul/Tri-City Storm)

University of North Dakota

Derek Forbort, D, Jr. (Duluth East/USNDTP)
Connor Gaarder, F, So. (Edina/Coulee Region Chill)
Joe Gleason, D, Sr. (Edina/Des Moines Buccaneers)
Zane Gothberg, G, Fr. (Thief River Falls/Fargo Force)
Danny Kristo, F, Sr. (Eden Prairie/USNDTP/Omaha Lancers)
Nick Mattson, D, So. (Chaska/USNDTP/Indiana Ice)

Hermantown native
 Drew Leblanc, WCHA
Player of the year
St. Cloud State University

T.J. Belisle, F, Fr. (St. Francis/Springfield Jr. Blues/Minnesota Owls)
Joey Benik, F, Fr. (St. Francis/Penticton Vees)
Jonny Brodzinski, F, Fr. (Blaine/Fargo Force)
Brandon Burrell, D, Jr. (North Metro/Wenatchee Wild)
Ben Hanowski, F, Sr. (Little Falls)
Nick Jensen, D, Jr. (Rogers/Green Bay Gamblers)
Taylor Johnson, D, Sr. (White Bear Lake/Green Bay Gamblers)
Drew LeBlanc, C, Sr. (Hermantown/Chicago Steel)
Nick Oliver, F, So. (Roseau/Fargo Force)
Joe Phillippi, G, So. (Hill-Murray/Fairbanks Ice Dogs)
Andrew Prochno, D, So. (Minnetonka/Sioux Falls Stampede)
Ethan Prow, D, Fr. (Sauk Rapids/Des Moines Buccaneers)
Joe Rehkamp, F, So. (Breck/Fargo Force/Waterloo Blackhawks)
Cory Thorson, F, Jr. (Armstrong/Owatonna Express)
Mavericks Captain Eriah Hayes, Third-
Team All WCHA Selection

Minnesota State University

Max Gaede, F, So. (Woobury/Sioux City Muskateers)
Eriah Hayes, F, Sr. (LaCrescent/Waterloo Blackhawks/Topeka Roadrunners)
Zach Lehrke, F, Jr. (Park Rapids/Cedar Rapids Roughriders)
Zach Palmquist, D, So. (South St. Paul/Waterloo Blackhawks)
Brett Stern, D, So. (Centennial/Green Bay Gamblers)
Charlie Thauwald, F, So. (Rochester Mayo/Chicago Steel/Fairbanks Ice Dogs)

University of Wisconsin

Former Burnsville standout Tyler Barnes
celebrates a Final Five championship
goal with Mark Zengerle
Tyler Barnes, F, Jr. (Burnsville/Waterloo Blackhawks)
Spencer Bell, F, Fr. (Maple Grove)
Joe Faust, D, Jr. (Bloomington Jefferson)
Joe LaBate, F, So. (Academy of Holy Angels)
Kevin Shulze, D, Fr. (Hill-Murray/Omaha Lancers)
Eddie Wittchow, D, Fr. (Burnsville/Waterloo Blackhawks)


Keegan Asmundson, G, Fr. (St. Paul Academy)
Ryan Boher, F, Jr. (Cretin-Derham Hall/North Iowa Outlaws)
Ben Danford, Jr. (Stillwater/Bismarck Bobcats)

Taylor Richart (#2) Celebrates a
Redhawk goal with his teammates
Niagara University

Isaac Kohls, F, So. (Hill-Murray/Muskegon Lumberjacks)

University of Miami (Ohio)

Joe Hartman, Sr. (St. Cloud/Indiana Ice)
Michael Mooney, D, Fr. (Breck/Alexandria Blizzard)
Taylor Richart, D, Fr. (Blaine/Fargo Force)

University of Notre Dame
Fomer Edina star and Notre Dame Captain
Anders Lee celebrates a goal

Steven Fogarty, F, Fr. (Edina/Penticton Vees)
Nick Larson, F, Sr. (St. Thomas Academy/Waterloo Blackhawks)
Anders Lee, F, Jr. (Edina/Green Bay Gamblers)
Mario Lucia, F, Fr. (Wayzata/Penticton Vees)

Union College

Sam Coatta, F, Jr. (Minnetonka/Sioux Falls Stampede)
Tyson Fulton, F, So. (Breck/Waterloo Blackhawks)

Former Armstrong standout Tommy
Tommy Fallon, D, So. (Armstrong/Cedar Rapids Roughriders)
Nick Weberg, D, So. (Shattuck-St. Mary's)

Michael Sit won a National Championship
in 2012 with Boston College
Boston College

Michael Sit, C, So. (Edina)


Ben Arnt, F, Sr. (North St. Paul/Omaha Lancers)
Eric Hartzell, G, Sr. (White Bear Lake/Sioux Falls Stampede)
Jacob Meyers, G, Fr. (Benilde-St. Margaret's/Alexandria Blizzard)
Quinnipiac Goaltender Eric Hartzell
Zach Tolkinen, D, Jr. (Centennial/Fairbanks Ice Dogs)

No comments:

Post a Comment